Five ministers-designate approved; Otiko Djaba okayed by Majority decision


Parliament’s Appointments Committee has recommended for approval six ministers-designate vetted within the past couple of days. In all 12 ministerial nominees of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo were vetted from Monday, January 30 to Thursday, February 2. On Friday, the Committee presented its third report to the Seventh Parliament. Five were approved by consensus by the Committee while one had to be approved by a majority decision. Dr Anthony Akoto Osei (Monitoring and Evaluation), Daniel Kwaku Botwe (Regional Reorganisation and Development) and John Peter Amewu (Lands and Natural Resources) are among the five approved by consensus by the Committee. Minister-designate for Employment and Labour Relations Ignatius Baffour Awuah and nominee for Works and Housing Samuel Atta Akyea were also approved by consensus. Otiko Afisah Djaba, who was nominated for the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection, was, however, opposed by the Minority on the Committee. Parliament is expected to cast a vote on Tuesday to either approve or disapprove her nomination on grounds of having failed to do her national service which is a statutory obligation. The five ministers-designate approved by the House are expected to be sworn in by President Akufo-Addo. Source:|Ghana ]]>


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here