Even NPP poured acid in 2015, yet they won elections – NDC NEC member on reactions to Minority changes

A member of the National Executive Committee (NEC)  of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has opined that the mixed reactions to the recent decision by the party to change its leadership in Parliament shows a “high” level of party tolerance.

Wonder Victor Kutor said a far different story was witnessed in 2015 when the New Patriotic Party (NPP) was in opposition.

“Not to do any comparison but in 2015, you could see that the then opposition had to pour acid on their regional chairman,” he stated on 3FM‘s morning show Sunrise on Friday, January 27.

“They suspended their regional chairman, they suspended their General Secretary, yet still they won the elections. We are not being violent like the then opposition. They had to pour acid.”

Mr Victor Kutor was referring to the death of then NPP Upper East Region Chairman, Adams Mahama, whose death from acid wounds in May, 2015 sparked major decisions within the party.

The late regional chairman was attacked on his way back from a party function and Gregory Afoko, the brother of then National Chairman of the NPP Paul Afoko has been on trial for the murder.

Mr Afoko and one of his Vice Chairmen, Sammy Crabbe, as well as his General Secretary, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, were later suspended from separate allegations levelled against them at the party’s Disciplinary Committee.

The NDC NEC member insists that contrary to propaganda that his party is violent, the reactions to the recent decision has rather emboldened NDC as a democratic party.

“For the past three days, the level of tolerance for the NDC has been very high and I think observers and non-party members will give NDC a lot of credit that a party that a lot of people have done propaganda [against] in the past that it is party with a lot violence has become so democratic and has become so tolerant.”

READ ALSO:  Remain hopeful for ‘greater opportunities in 2018’ – Freddie Blay

He called on the rank and file of the party to defend “this good cause” and rally behind the decision taken.

By the decision, Haruna Iddrisu has been replaced by Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam’s Dr Cassiel Ato Forson, while his Deputy, James Klutse Avedzi, has been replaced by Ellembelle’s Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah.

The Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak Mohammed, has also been removed with Adaklu’s Governs Kwame Agbodza taking his place.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here