EC to refund GH¢100k filing fees to disqualified presidential aspirants

Chair of the Electoral Commission, Jean Mensa

The Chair of the Electoral Commission (EC), Jean Mensa, has said the Commission will refund the filing fees of the failed presidential aspirants. Five were on Monday, October 19 disqualified from contesting the elections this year. The five are Kwesi Addae Odike, Kofi Koranteng, Marricke Kofi Gane, Kwasi Busumbru and Nana Agyenim Boateng. Mrs Mensa said in a media briefing that there were issues with the forms of these disqualified aspirants. She further noted that the Commission will report those that center on criminality to the Ghana Police Service for further investigations. In all, 12 aspirants were qualified to contest the elections. They are: Alfred Asiedu Walker Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo Christian Kwabena Andrews Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku John Dramani Mahama Akua Donkor Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings Hassan Ayariga Ivor Kobina Greenstreet Henry Herbert Lartey Kofi Akpaloo David Apasera By Laud Nartey||Ghana  ]]>

READ ALSO:  Akufo-Addo justifies removal of Charlotte Osei, 2 others but says it was 'painful'