10 eminent persons elected Council of State members

Ten (10) prominent persons were elected today, one from each region, to represent the 10 regions on the Council of State membership. They will compliment the 14 others already appointed by President Nana Akufo-Addo to advise him during his four-year tenure as the President of Ghana. President of Groupe Ideal Dr Nii Kotei Dzani has been elected as the Greater Accra Region representative onto the Council of State. The 37-year-old won elections held on Thursday at the Ga West District Assembly Hall in Amasaman. He polled 20 out of a total of 32 valid votes cast. [caption id="attachment_42914" align="aligncenter" width="564"] Nii Kotei Dzani is the President of Groupe Ideal[/caption] Second to Dr Dzani was the Paramount Chief of Ningo-Prampram, Nene Kanor Atiapa III, who polled 12 votes. The remaining 11 candidates failed to poll a single vote. In the Brong Ahafo Region, Kwadwo Agyenim Boateng, who describes himself as a graduate journalist, polled 21 votes to become the regional representative on the Council to counsel President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. He beat nine other contenders, three of whom could not poll any votes, to win Thursday’s elections. Businesswomen Eunice Jacqueline Buah, 52, beat competition from four others, all men, to win the Western Region elections. Ms Buah polled 24 out of the 44 valid votes cast to win the elections to become the regional representative on the Council of State. In the Upper West Region, the President of the Regional House of Chiefs, Tumu Koro Richard Babini Kanton, has been elected a member of the Council. [caption id="attachment_42935" align="aligncenter" width="564"] Tumu Koro Richard Babini Kanton[/caption] Five persons had initially filed to contest the elections but two withdrew on the election day. Another traditional ruler won the polls in the Eastern Region. [caption id="attachment_42929" align="aligncenter" width="563"] Nana Somuah Mireku-Nyampong[/caption] The Apagyahene of the Kwahu Traditional Council, Nana Somuah Mireku-Nyampong, beat his close contender Afare Apeadu Donkor to become the Region’s representative on the Council for the next four years. Nana Mireku-Nyampong polled 26 out of the total valid votes cast. In the Central Region, 56-year-old chief, Obrempong Appiah Nuamah II secured 11 votes to win the regional council of state election. The Omanhene of Twifo Traditional Council contested with five other contestants.  Samuel Nana Brew-Buttler and Neenyi Ghartey VII polled 7 votes respectively while 63-year-old Professor Ato Essuman had 9 votes. [caption id="attachment_42928" align="aligncenter" width="563"] Obrempong Appiah Nuamah II[/caption] In what appears to be an election of traditional rulers, the Akrofosohene, Nana Owusu Achiaw Brempong garnered 45 votes, representing 75%, to win the Ashanti Regional council of state election. Robert Owusu Amankwa had 10 while a key contender Mawerehene, Baffuor Osei Hyiaman Brantsaduo VI obtained 5 out of the 60 votes cast. [caption id="attachment_42937" align="aligncenter" width="565"] Nana Owusu Achiaw Brempong[/caption] Professor Bog-Na Yakubu Natogmah, 74, has been elected as the Northern Regional representative of the Council of State after a keenly contested race between eight candidates. Chief of Bogu in the  Savelugu Municipality polled twenty (20) votes against his closest contender the Chief of Salaga Kpembi-Wura Dari Bismark Haruna who polled fourteen votes. [caption id="attachment_42958" align="aligncenter" width="565"] Professor Bo-Na Yakubu Natogmah[/caption] A 50-year-old businessman, Francis Albert Seth Nyonyo was declared the council of state representative of Volta Region. He polled 29 votes out of the total 50 votes cast to emerge the winner. [caption id="attachment_42961" align="aligncenter" width="564"] Francis Albert Seth Nyonyo (Left)[/caption] The Paramount Chief of the Talensi Traditional Area, Kolbilsong Nalebteng has won the Upper East Regional council of state election with 11 votes, beating the immediate past member of the council Jacob Kofi Ayeebo who got 6 votes.

READ ALSO:  Ghana vows to avert terrorism attacks on its people
Source: 3news.com | Ghana]]>