CJ sets up new c’ttee to probe 7 suspended High Court judges

The Chief Justice, her Ladyship Georgina Theodora Wood has set up a 4 member committee made up of Justices of the Superior court to investigate the 7 High court judges suspended by government.

Information reaching tv3network.com indicates that the committee would be made up of Justice Sophia Akufo, Justice Agnes Dotse, Justice Marfo with a fourth judge yet to be named.

They are to look into the allegations leveled against them in an expose by Anas Aremeyaw Anas which indicated that some judges have been involved in various acts of corruption with some taking goats, cash etc to skew justice.

This would be the second committee set up by the Chief Justice after the Anas expose against the judges. Already, 22 judges of the circuit and magistrate courts are serving a suspension for similar acts. A five member committee set up to look into the case of the 22 justices is on a one month break.

The Vice President, Paa Kwesi Amissah Arthur, acting in his capacity as the president of the republic and upon the advice of the Judicial Council, suspended 7 High Court justices after a prima facie case was established against them by the corruption video from Anas.

They are Justices John Ajet Nasam, Ivy Heward-Mills, Francis K. Opoku, Kofi Essel Mensah, Ernest Obimpeh, Kwame OheneEssel and GilberAyisi Addo.

Council for some of the suspended High Court judges have told tv3network.com that their clients are not guilty of the alleged corruption crimes brought against them.

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana

READ ALSO:  Substantive case against #Fixthecountry conveners is still pending in High Court - Police