Bawku Senior High old students honour two former headmasters

The statue of the late Dr Dickson
The Bawku Senior High School Old Students Association (BOSA) has posthumously honoured the founding headmaster of the school, Dr Yaw D. Agyeman Dickson for his historic and distinguished service during his tenure.
Dr  Dickson served the school as headmaster between 1963 and 1966, after which  Mr Robert Akurugu Ajene took over until 1979. Mr Ajene was also honoured by the old students for his services.
A statue has been unveiled in their honour at the school premises during a Homecoming Summit of the old students last week in Bawku in the Upper East Region.
A citation of recognition in honour of the two former headmasters lauded them for their meritorious service and enormous contributions to the school’s infrastructural development.
The statue of Mr Ajene
Mr Ajene [Right] acknowledging the statue mounted in his honour
Mr Ajene who is the longest served headmaster of the school, thanked the old students association for the honour done them, and appealed to the school’s administration to commit itself to improving both academic and infrastructure.
He expressed gratitude to the Bawku Traditional Council led by Zugraana Naba Asigri Abugrago Azoka II, teachers and non teaching staff of the school, as well as other stakeholders for their support and cooperation during his tenure.
Headmaster of the school, Mr Bismark Kpuli Simon, recounted how less endowed the school was at the time the late Dr Dickson and Mr Ajene were appointed and how they managed to give it facelift which set the stage for further improvement.
Mr Simon said despite the many projects being provided, the school still have some challenges, noting the library lacks books, inadequate accommodation for staff, poor state of the road network and ill-equipped ICT laboratory among others.bosa2Meanwhile, Prof.George Agbango, Prof. Thomas Mba Akabza , B.J.L. Solomon Asoalla, Mr Richard Anamoah, Mr  Bismark Kpuli Simon, Alhaji Abdul-Razak, Alhaji Sumaila Isaaka, and Mr Paul Apanga  – all former students- were also awarded for their contribution to the school.
By Simon Atubugri Atule|TV3||Ghana

Facebook Comments

Related Articles