Babgin sworn in as Speaker of 8th Parliament

Former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo Constituency Alban Bagbin has been sworn in as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament. He was sworn into office by the Chief Justice on Thursday, January 7. “I humbly accept the high placed office of the Speaker of the 8th parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana “I thank the almighty God for his abundant grace on me and my family. “I thank all of you for bestowing this honour and great responsibility on me. Let me not forget Ghanaians, Electoral Commission, all political parties  CSOs, media and more importantly my party the great National Democratic Congress (NDC) for proposing me to be elected to be the speaker of the 8th parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana “I will submit myself to the will of this house. I will serve faithfully to the best of my ability,” he said in his acceptance speech. After the ballot by the MPs-elect to pick a speaker, Mr Bagbin polled 138 votes as against 136 for former Speaker Professor Mike Oquaye. By Laud Nartey||Ghana]]>

READ ALSO:  Bagbin mocks NDC Unity Walk: “I don’t know how walking together can unite”