B/A: GJA set for maiden awards, 39 to be honoured

Dr. Leonard Victor Amengor (R), presenting the final report to Chairman of the Brong Ahafo Regional GJA Larry Paa Kwesi Moses[/caption] A total of 39 individuals and institutions have been shortlisted by the Brong Ahafo branch of the Ghana Journalists Association for its maiden awards. The awards scheduled for 27th July is under the theme “Promoting Responsible Mining, the Role of the Media”. A four-member committee, chaired by Dr. Leonard Victor Amengor, a communication specialist and a theologian, reviewed a total of 64 entries from journalists across the region. Presenting the list of finalists to the Association at a news conference last week, the secretary to the Committee, Madam Gloria Fofie, head of Communication Department, Sunyani Technical University, said entries were from Sunyani, Dormaa Ahenkro, Techiman and Goaso among others. The 2018 Brong Ahafo GJA Awards winners are:

  1. William Arthur-UTV, Sunyani
  2. Michael Sarpong Mfum-Citi FM, Sunyani
  3. Anass Sabit-Joy News/Gaskiya FM, Techiman
  4. Emmanuel Adu Gyamerah-Daily Graphic, Sunyani
  5. Emmanuel Adu Gyamfi-The Crusader, Goaso
  6. Edward Adjei Frimpong-Business and Financial Times, Sunyani
  7. Robert Tachie-Menson-Ghana News Agency (GNA), Dormaa-Ahenkro
  8. Bismark Opoku aka Nana Poku Piesie-Moonlite FM, Sunyani
  9. Steven Kwasi Ndo-Gaskiya FM, Techiman
  10. Francis Owusu Ansah-The Chronicle, Sunyani
  11. Genevieve Abrefah Yeboah aka Adazua-Classic Fm, Techiman
  12. Danieel Dzirasah-Ghanaian Times, Sunyani
  13. Ali Biiya Mukusah-Daily Graphic, Sunyani
Institutions to be honoured include: Moonlite FM, Sunyani Sky FM, Sunyani Metro Fm, Sunyani Space FM, Sunyani Newmont Goldcorp Ghana Bui Power Authority A special award will be given to the chairman for the occasion Dormaahene, Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyemang Badu II, for his enormous contribution in shaping the media landscape. The Association will also confer a life patron title on him. The guest speaker will be the Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Kwaku Asomah Cheremeh. Awards available for grabs include Most Promising, Best Journalist of the Year, reserved for only members of the Association in good standing as at December 2018. The other categories are Health, Education, Child Protection, Sanitation and Environment and Business and Economics. Also, there are awards for Agriculture, Tourism and Culture, Disability, Sports, Local Governance, Best Morning Show (English) and Best Morning Show (Akan). The rest are Entertainment, Crime and Court Reporting, Mining, Feature Reporting, Social Protection/Awareness and Best Social Programme on Radio (English and Akan).
READ ALSO:  I'm fulfilling my campaign promises – Akufo-Addo
GUIDELINES Some of the measures adopted as yardstick to determine the winners were independent initiative rather than event driven or official reportage, how the said reports impacted society, the correct use of diction, whether English or Akan, the logicality of the entire particular programme reportage and how professional was the use of data/statistics, clarity of recorded, CDs/Pen Drives (some of which were really very bad) and proof reading of printed materials) as well as general journalistic skills. OBSERVATIONS Following the observations made, the committee to recommend that, the GJA should:
  1. Hold more regular Training Sessions, Seminars and Workshops for Media Practitioners in these areas.
  2. Research and Investigative Reporting
  3. The proper use of Lexis (both English and Akan)
  4. Good programme production materials
Source: 3news.com | Ghana]]>