Atiwa East NPP in turmoil as delegates and supporters threaten to sponsor an independent candidate if…

Google search engine

While the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) grapples with the uncertainty surrounding its parliamentary primaries ahead of the 2020 elections  due to the coronavirus pandemic, four disqualified aspirants in the Atiwa East Constituency of the Eastern Region are beating war drum as they threaten to contest the December elections as independent candidates if they are not reinstated.

The four, Kudjoe Amegah Kafui, Ernest Adade Wiredu, Dr. Frank Banning and Eric Ofori Agyarko, who picked  nomination forms to contest the incumbent MP who is also the Deputy Minister of Finance, Abena Osei Asare, were all disqualified by the Vetting Committee of the party.

Speaking in an interview with one of the disgruntled delegates and supporters stated, “we the NPP delegates and avid supporters in Atiwa East appeal to the National Executive Committee and Council of Elders and Patrons to clear all the disqualified aspirants to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries to avoid defection and apathy and a possible emergence of independent candidate”.

Another supporter who gave his name as Emmanuel Boateng pointed out that, “the allegations against our candidates by the Regional Vetting Committee are frivolous, malicious, baseless and false, therefore we are appealing to the party hierarchy to rescind that decision to disqualify them because we know it was a way of imposing a candidate on the good people of Atiwa East Constituency which will pave way for apathy and defection and a possible independent candidate.

“The disqualified aspirants are known to be active members of the party and they keep supporting the party and constituents in so many ways”.

When contacted the Eastern Regional First Vice Chairman of the NPP, Alhaji Umar Bodinga, he explained that the issue is before the Appeals Committee of the party so the candidates must wait until the report is out.

He explained that the report is not out because of the coronavirus which has led to the suspension of every political activity.

Below is a release by the party listing disqualified persons in the Eastern Region:

New Patriotic Party

Eastern Regional Secretariat

National Parliamentary Vetting Committee (NPVC)

Fifteen (15) out of 79 Aspirants were not cleared at the Vetting

Out of the 79 aspirants who filed their nominations in the Eastern Region, Fifteen (15) aspirants from nine (9) Constituencies were NOT recommended to contest for the parliamentary candidates positions in their respective constituencies. Detailed report and reasons for their disqualification will be sent to the National Headquarters for consideration and final approval.

Please fine the details below:


Barifi Opare Addo – Akuapem South

Dr. William Adjei Twumasi – Akuapem North

Lawyer Philip Addison – Akuapem North

Dr. Oppong Adabo – Akim Swedru

Edward Kwaku Aboagye – Akim Oda

Eric Ofori Agyarko – Atiwa East

Kafui Cudjoe Amega – Atiwa East

Dr. Frank Baning – Atiwa East

Adade Wiredu – Atiwa East

Dr. Samuel Owusu Akyem – Atiwa West

Moro Sakyiama Yakubu – Fanteakwa North

Freeman Ofori Agyarko – Fanteakwa North

Frank Mireku Ahemah – Abirem

Daniel Kwadwo Afrifa – Abirem

Gloria Ofori Boadu – Abuakwa South

Thank You


Jeff Konadu Addo

(Regional Secretary)

By Kweku Antwi-Otoo||Ghana

Google search engine