All set for AFCON 2019 draw

Cameroon are the defending champions

The draw for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations is scheduled to be held today, Friday, April 12, at Giza in the Egyptian capital, Cairo.

Twenty-four teams will be drawn in six groups of four for the 32nd edition of the continent’s flagship football tournament.

Already, six nations have been seeded ahead of the draw, which will be held in front former African stars, coaches, officials of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) as well as officials from member associations.

Host nation Egypt have been drawn in Group A already and will play the opening game of the tournament.

They were seeded in Pot 1.

Cameroon, Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria and Morocco are the other top-seeded sides.

A decision was taken by the Organising Committee on Thursday to use the latest FIFA Rankings to determine the heads of the six groups.

DR Congo, Ghana, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea and Algeria will not face each other in the expanded tournament as they have been grouped in Pot 2.

South Africa, Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, debutantes Madagascar and returnees Kenya are in Pot 3.

Fellow returnees Zimbabwe, Namibia, Guinea-Bissau, Angola, Tanzania and debutants Burundi are in Pot 4 and will begin the draw, to be held at the base of one of the historic Egyptian pyramids.

The tournament is scheduled to be held from 21 June to 19 July.

It was originally scheduled to be hosted by Cameroon, who are also title holders, but they were stripped of the hosting rights for non-preparedness ahead of plan.

By Emmanuel Kwame Amoh||Ghana

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button