Akufo Addo’s nominees to be vetted on Saturday


Parliaments vetting committee would be vetting President Akufo Addo’s nominees on Saturday as part of efforts to expedite the process so the minister designates can get to work as quickly as possible.

A 26 man vetting committee has been put in place to begin work on Friday January 20, 2017. The committee will then sit on the Saturday January 21 to continue with the process.

It will resume on Monday January 23 and continue until all the 36 ministerial nominees submitted to parliament are vetted.

President Akufo Addo has given indications that names of the 10 regional ministers would be submitted to the House of legislature on January 24 when it resumes from recess.

Below is the time table for the vetting process:

Friday Jan 20, 2017
Yaw Osafo Maafo – Senior Minister of State nominee,

Albert Kan Dapaah – Security Ministry nominee

Ken Ofori-Atta – Finance Minister nominee

Dominic Nitiwul – Defense Minister nominee

Saturday, Jan. 21, 2017
Gloria Akuffo – Attorney-General & Justice Minister nominee

Ambrose Dery – Interior Ministry nominee

Monday, Jan 23, 2017
Hajia Alima Mahama – Local Government & Rural Development Minister nominee

Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen – Trade and Industry Minister-nominee

Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Agriculture Minister nominee

Boakye Agyarko – Energy Minister-nominee

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2017
Shirley Ayorkor Botchway – Foreign Affairs Minister nominee

Dr. Matthew Opoku-Prempeh – Education Minister nominee

Kwaku Agyeman-Manu – Health Minister nominee

Full list of 26 man Appointments / Vetting committee:

Joseph Osei-Owusu (MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker) – Chairman

READ ALSO:  NHIS subscribers stranded Monday as Tamale office remained locked

Adwoa Safo (MP for Dome Kwabenya and Deputy Majority Leader)

Kwesi Ameyaw Cheremeh (MP for Sunyani East and Majority Chief Whip)

Dominic Nitiwul (MP for Bimbilla)

Samuel Atta Kyea (MP for Abuakwa South)

Matthew Opoku Prempeh (Manhyia South)

Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus-Glover (MP for Tema East)

Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful (MP Ablekuma West)

Joseph Kofi Adda (Navrongo Central)

Joseph Cudjoe (Effia)

Patricia Apeagyei (Asokwa)

O.B. Amoah (Akwapim South)

Kofi Amoako Hene (Atebubu)

Anthony Karbo (Lawra)

Barbara Asher Ayisi (Cape Coast South)

Micheal Yaw Gyato (Krachie)


Haruna Iddrisu (Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South) – Ranking Member

Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak (Minority Chief Whip and MP for Asawase)

Mahama Ayariga (Bawku Central)

Sampson Ahi (Bodi)

Eric Opoku (Asunafo South)

Bernice Adiku Heloo (Hohoe)

Joseph Yieleh Chireh (Wa West)

Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye (Odododiodioo)

Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (North Tongu)

Alhassan Suhuyini (Tamale North)

By Martin Asiedu-Dartey|3news.com|Ghana
Twitter: @NewsyMartin