Akufo-Addo swears in NoDA, MiBDA & CoDA boards

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has sworn in the boards of the newly created development authorities – Northern Development Authority, Middle Belt Development Authority and Coastal Development Authority.

The ceremony held at the Jubilee House also saw the swearing in of a board for the Zongo Development Fund.

President Akufo-Addo expressed worry about the disparity that has characterized development in the country.

He, therefore, urged the new board to have a paradigm shift in how the country’s resources are disbursed, stressing equitability should be key.

The President tasked the Northern Development Authority (NoDA) in particular not to repeat the mistakes that plagued the erstwhile Savannah Accelerated Development Authority (SADA).

Dr Hakeem Ahmed Wemah will chair NoDA’s board with Chief Executive Officer Dr Abdul-Majeed Haroun as one of the 12 members.

Among the members are Dr Grace Bediako representing the National Development Planning Commission (NDPC), Dari Bismark Harruna, representing the Northern Regional House of Chiefs, Kuoro Issaka Zeng’eh Kazie Tenjie II, representing the Upper West Regional House of Chiefs, and Naba Sigri Bewong, representing the Upper East Regional House of Chiefs.

The others are Eva Esselba Mends (Ministry of Finance), Nana Owusu Acheampong (Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development), Francis Kwame Tettey (Civil Society) and Boniface Gambila (Private Sector).

The rest are Rita Asobayeri, Nabla Sulemana and John Bennam, who were all nominated by the president.

For the Middle Belt Development Authority (MiBDA), Alex Kwaku Korankye will chair the board while CEO Joe Danquah and NDPC representative Dr Isaac Frimpong Mensah-Bonsu will be members.

READ ALSO:  'You don’t run an economy from textbooks' - Mahama tells Bawumia

The other members are Nana Effah Apenteng (Ashanti Regional House of Chiefs), Nana Okotwaasuo Kantamanto Owarae Agyekum III (Eastern Regional House of Chiefs) and Okofrobour Nana Dr Yaw Agyei II (Brong Ahafo Regional House of Chiefs).

The rest are Kwaku Kwarteng (Ministry of Finance), Dr Baffour Awuah (Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development), Nana Yaa Ansua (Civil Society), Dr Alice Boateng (Private Sector), Nana Wiafe Ababio (President’s nominee), Sarah Bour Baah (President’s nominee) and Baffour Owusu Amankwatia VI (President’s nominee).

Edmund Annan will chair the board of the Coastal Development Authority (CoDA).

The members are CEO Samuel Attah-Mensah, NDPC’s Dr Grace Bediako and Deputy Finance Minister Abena Osei-Asare.

The others are Tetrete Okuamoah Sekyim II (Western Regional House of Chiefs), Odeefo Afankwa III (Central Regional House of Chiefs) , Tema Mantse Nii Adjei Kraku II (Greater Accra Regional House of Chiefs) and Torgbui Adzonugaga Amenya Fiti V (Volta Regional House of Chiefs).

The rest are Moses Ertie Appoh (Local Government Ministry), Prof. Yaw Safo Boafo (Civil Society), Douglas Kirk Wagba (Private Sector), Albert Kwaku Obbin (President’s nominee) and Yvette Adounvo Atekpe (President’s nominee).

Source: 3news.com|Ghana