Akufo-Addo swears in board of National Vaccine Institute; asked them to help reduce reliance on external sources

President Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has charged the newly-inaugurated Governing Board of the National Vaccine Institute to work hard to ensure Ghana becomes the vaccine hub of the entire African continent.

The president encouraged them to collaborate with other vaccine-producing institutions to ensure quality.

Mr Akufo-Addo said these at the swearing-in ceremony of the 13-member board of the National Vaccine Institute at the Jubilee House.

“Develop a roadmap for vaccine development and manufacturing in Ghana. Support the upgrade of laboratory facility for the Food and Drugs Authority (FDA) to achieve the World Health Organisation (WHO) maturity level. Collaborate with international institutions in Senegal, Rwanda,” he said.

The board led by Dr. Anarfi Asamoah Baah is expected to facilitate the coordination of all vaccine manufacturing activities in Ghana.

President Akufo-Addo charged them to fast-track the country’s drive towards the manufacturing of its own vaccines.

President akufo addo later went on to commission the new ultra-modern office complex of the National Vaccine Institute, located at Cantonment in Accra.

The building will serve as the working space for the National Vaccine Institute to spearhead the development and manufacture of vaccines in Ghana.

The governing board of the National Vaccine Institute is chaired by Dr. Anarfi Asamoa-Baah.

The other members are Prof. William Kwabena Ampofo, chief executive officer of the NVI, Dr. Baffour -Awuah, representative of the Ministry of Health, Mr. Mustapha Tawiah Kumah, representative Of the Ministry of Trade and Industry, Dr Daniel Gyingiri Achel, representative of the Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, and Ms Fredrica Sala Illiasu, representative of the Office of the Attorney-General and Ministry of Justice.

The rest are, Dr Delese Darko representative of the Food and Drugs Authority, Professor Alex Dodoo, representative of Ghana Standards Authority, Dr Patrick Kuma-Aboagye, representative of the Ghana Health Service, Mr Kofi Nsiah-Poku, representative of the President of the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association of Ghana, Professor Kofi Opoku Nti, President of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences, Professor Gordon A. Awandare, Nominee of the Minister of Health and Prof. Rita Akosua Dickson, Nominee of the Minister of Health.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here