Akufo-Addo congratulates Ntim and all other elected executives


President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has congratulated the newly-elected National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Stephen Ayesu Ntim and all the other national executives who were elected by the delegates on Saturday July 16.

Mr Akufo-Addo in a tweet after the polls said “I congratulate warmly the new National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party, Mr Stephen Ayesu Ntim, and the other National Officers who were elected at the Party’s National Delegates’ Conference, held at the Accra Sports Stadium, on Saturday, 16th July, 2022.”

During the polls, Mr John Boadu lost his seat as the General Secretary. He was defeated by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Youth Employment Agency (YEA), Justin Kodua Frimpong.

Provisional results sighted by 3news.com saw the young lawyer, JFK as he is affectionately known, poll 2,837 of the total valid votes cast to beat the incumbent John Boadu, who polled 2,524 votes.

Mr Kodua Frimpong was greeted with cheers at the Accra Sports Stadium as he made his way round the inner perimeter after the outcome of the votes got to his supporters.

Iddrisu Musah, popularly known as Musah Superior, placed a distant third with 104 votes.

Former Suhum Member of Parliament (MP) Frederick Opare-Ansah polled 50 votes while Charles Cromwell Nanabanyin Onuawonto Bissue, despite his withdrawal from the contest a couple of days ago, polled 12 votes.

Ramseyer Agyeman-Prempeh placed last with eight votes.

Justin Kodua Frimpong made his way to the venue on Saturday, July 16, 2022

Mr Kodua Frimpong joins a tall list of party stalwarts who have served in the General Secretary position.

Among these are current Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development Dan Kweku Botwe, Nana Ohene Ntow, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong and most recently John Boadu.

By Laud Nartey|3news.com|Ghana


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here