PoliticsTop Story

Abronye DC elected NPP BA 1st Vice Chairman in landslide

Abronye DC was suffered a mob attack during his campaign

Firebrand New Patriotic Party member Kwame Baffoe, popularly known as Abronye DC, has been elected the First Vice Chairman of the Brong Ahafo Region branch of the party.

In elections held on Sunday despite a boycott by the Electoral Commission, Ghana, Abronye DC polled an overwhelming 407 votes to beat four other aspirants to the position.

He was hitherto the Region’s Youth Organiser.

He had suffered a mob attack during his campaign to be Vice Chairman.

Thomas Adu Appiah was elected Chairman after beating Francis Opoku Sarfo by 16 votes. He polled 282 votes while Mr Opoku Sarfo polled 266 votes.

Dr Charles Addo polled 10 votes to come third.

In Abronye DC’s contest, Dr Emmanuel Opoku Marfo came second with 93 votes, Patrick Peprah Agyei came third with 28 votes, Shaibu Bamba came fourth with 15 votes and Dabie Appiah Mensah came fifth with 13 votes.

Joseph Mensah was elected Second Vice Chairman, beating Justina Owusu Banahene.

Kofi Owusu Boateng beat David Boakye and John Nketsiah to be Secretary while Asare Baffour will serve as his deputy after he beat Mohammed Baba Gausu and Clement Bonsu.

Alhaji Issaka Issa, who polled 405 votes, was elected Treasurer after beating Justice Appiah Antwi, who polled 151 votes.

Regional Organiser Rasheed Konlaabig was elected unopposed.

Dorothy Ama Amponsah beat two others to be elected Women’s Organiser while Michael Osei Boateng beat five others to become Youth Organiser.

Alhaji Adam Mohammed – with 266 votes – beat Amadu Bermah Suleman(208) and Kassim Siaka (93) to be Nasara Coordinator.

Source: 3news.com|Ghana

Facebook Comments

Related Articles