4 race to lead CPP for 2016 elections

About 2,600 members of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) have gathered at the Ground Pavillion of the International Trade Fair Center in Accra to elect a flagbearer for the party ahead of this year’s elections.

Four leading members are vying for the single slot.

Former National Chairman Samia Yaba Nkrumah, Former General Secretary Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, private legal practitioner Bright Akwetey and Joe Agyapong are the four aspirants.

The party is going into Saturday’s congress in defiance of a writ of injunction filed by another member, Dr Onsy Nkrumah, who claimed to have been wrongfully disqualified from contesting the race.

The cogress also comes in the wake of the resignation of the 2012 Presidential Candidate, Dr Abu Sakara Forster, who has given indication of contesting the 2016 elections as an independent candidate.

By 3news.com|Ghana

READ ALSO:  Qasem Soleimani: US kills top Iranian general in Baghdad air strike