Mahama, Nduom, Mrs Rawlings, Akua Donkor, 9 others disqualified by EC


Ghana’s Electoral Commission has disqualified 12 presidential nominees from contesting in this year’s December 7 general elections.

Reasons for their disqualification ranges from irregularities regarding voter’s ID cards of witnesses, forgery, incomplete forms, different signatures of nominees and invalid endorsement among others.


1. Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC)

2. Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress

3. Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom’s Progressive People’s Party (PPP)

4. Mrs Konadu Agyemang Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP)

5. Dr. Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)

6. Kwesi Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP)

7. Kofi Akpaloo of Independent People’s Party(IPP)

8. Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP)

9. Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)

10. Thomas N. Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party

11. Alfred Asiedu Walker, an independent nominee

12 .WO1 Richard Nixon Tetteh of the Unity Development System Party

Qualified to contest

1. New Patriotic Party’s Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

2. John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress

3. Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party 

4. Jacob Osei-Yeboah


1 . Akwasi Addai Odike of the United People’s Party

A group of his party members have serve the EC with court processes challenging the membership and candidature of Mr Odike. According to the Commission, this restrains it from processing his nomination.

The EC has thus given the party and Odike up to October 14, to resolve their differences after which date the Commission says it will be unable to process his nomination.

 By Stephen Kwabena Effah|3news.com|Ghana

Twitter @steviekgh_TV3

Leave a comment below

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.