PoliticsTop Story

NPP to screen 34 aspiring national executives from today

Vetting of prospective candidates who have filed to contest for various national executive positions within the New Patriotic Party (NPP) begins today.

Between today and May 24, the party through the exercise will seek to establish the suitability of the prospective candidates for the positions they are vying for.

A total of 34 out of the 37 persons who picked nomination forms successfully filed their forms at the party headquarters at the close of nominations on Tuesday, May 15, 2018. Filing of nominations opened on Monday, May 14.

READ: 34 aspirants file for NPP national executive positions

Aspirants had to crisscross the country to get their forms endorsed by delegates in all the 10 regions before the forms were accepted as a step to realising their dreams to contest for a national executive position in the party.

Already, the NPP has successfully conducted its polling station, constituency and regional elections.

Those who filed nominations

On Monday, 19 aspirants including Alhaji Aminu Abu for the Nasara Coordinator, Sadik Nabicheing for the National Organizer, Dominic Kweku Edua for the National Youth Organizer.

Others are Agnes Asangalisa Chigabatia for the First Vice chairperson, Abdulai Iddrisu for Nasara Coordinator, Kate Gyamfua for the Women’s Organizer and Richard Ahiagbah for the General Secretary.

George Isaac Amoo for the First Vice Chair, Alhaji Abubakar Abdul Rahaman for the National Chairman, Nuhu Bayorbo Mahama for the National Treasurer and Nana Bediako for the National Youth Organizer also filed on Monday.

The rest are: Fredrick Fredua Antoh for the First vice chair, Freddie Blay for the National Chairman, Sammi Awuku for the National Organizer and Kwabena Amankwah Yeboah for the National Treasurer.
The remaining are Baaba Gado, Sulemana Abubakar , Alhaji Sule Mussah and Sheriff Dannsa, all for the Nasara Coordinator.

On the second day, 15 aspirants including Henry Nana Boakye for the National Youth Organizer, Joyce Konokie Zempare for National Women’s Organizer, Rita Talata Asobayire for the first vice chairperson and Stephen Ayensu Ntim for the National Chairman filed their nomination.

Others are Vida Agyekum Acheampong for the vice chairperson, Kamal-Deen Abdul for the National Youth Organizer, Ali Suraj for the Nasara Coordinator, Michael Omari Wadie for the First Vice Chair and Ken – Wuud Nuworsu for the vice chairmanship.

The rest are Abdul Aziz Haruna Futa for the Nasara Coordinator, Kwabena Oppong Frimpong for the National Treasurer, David Kankam Boadu for the National Chairman, Abraham Obeng Amoakohene for the National Treasurer, Mary- Posch Oduro for the National Treasurer and Sulemana Alhassan Atakpo for the Nasara Coordinator.

Congress date

The party has fixed July 7, 2018 for its National Delegates Congress in Koforidua in the Eastern Region at which the national executives will be elected.

It had initially scheduled the congress for June 17 but had to be pushed forward because the date will coincide with the celebration of Eid ul- Fitr by Muslims in the country.

READ: NPP postpones conference to elect national executives

Once the national elections are over, the party will concentrate on deciding who leads them into the 2020 general elections.

A five-member National Elections Committee, comprising Rev. Prof. Samuel Asante-Antwi as the Chairman, Hackman Owusu-Agyemang, Madam Agnes Okudzeto, a former National Third Vice Chairperson, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, the MP for Ablekuma West and Evans Nimako, the Acting Director of Research and Elections), has been put in place to oversee the conduct of the NPP national elections.

By Kweku Antwi-Otoo|3news.com|Ghana

Leave a comment below

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.